Connachts conclude in Cork

Connachts conclude in Cork

The third Provincial event of the year was held last weekend in Crosshaven.  Darragh O’Sullivan – Kinsale YC/Baltimore SC won the standards, Jamie McMahon of Howth took home the Radial trophy and James Delaney from Lough Ree/NYC won the 4.7 title.

The Connacht Championships concluded on Sunday afternoon in the Royal Cork Yacht Club after two days of racing in Cuskinny on the east side of Cork Harbour.  Sixty nine Lasers across three fleets competed in the Championships with 4.7’s the largest fleet.  The forecast did see a few sailors opting to race in the smaller rig moving from the Radial Fleet to 4.7 Fleet during the registration process on Friday evening.

Despite State exams still ongoing and some sailors away competing internationally it was great to see such a large turnout.  It was also great to see daughter/dad and son/dad combinations racing across the fleets.  Some sailors stayed very local and camped on site in tents and RV’s.  There was certainly a holiday atmosphere around the club each evening after racing.

The PRO Ciaran McSweeney got three races away on Saturday in medium to strong westerly breezes with leaders overnight as follows – Darragh O’Sullivan, Kinsale YC/Baltimore SC in the standards, Jamie McMahon of Howth in Radials and James Delaney from Lough Ree/National Yacht Club in 4.7’s.The wind remained unchanged on Sunday and the sailors launched under grey skies to get to the racetrack for first gun at 1055.  The Race Management Team on Capta Ventum got three more races completed in strong westerly breezes with the three leaders holding their spots despite some great racing across the fleets.  

Our thanks to the Royal Cork Yacht Club for hosting a great event which was greatly enjoyed by all the sailors.

Results can be found here.

4.7 Silver Fleet

1st – Killian O”Regan RCYC, 2nd – Cian Lynch WHBTC/RStGYC, 3rd – Jack O’Sullivan RCYC/KYC

Radial Silver Fleet

1st – Jack McMahon HYC, 2nd – Conor Walsh RCYC, 3rd – Caoimhe Foster RCYC



1st – James Delaney LRYC/NYC, 2nd – Cathal O’Regan RCYC, 3rd – Rory O’Sullivan RCYC, First Lady – Alana Coakley RStGYC


1st – Jamie McMahon HYC, 2nd – Chris Bateman RCYC, 3rd – Geoff Power WHSC, First Master – Sean Craig RStGYC, First Lady – Sophie Crosbie RCYC


1st – Darragh O’Sullivan KYC/BSC, 2nd – Johnny Durcan RCYC, 3rd & First Master – Nick Walsh RCYC, 2nd Master – Ed Rice RCYC, 3rd Master – John Simms RUYC/BYC

Photos can be found on our facebook page and photo gallery.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp